The Thing About Jellyfish #book review

March 9, 2016Mandi Morrison

Neva is an avid reader and loves any Young adult books, but this one was a particular favourite.

thing about jellyfish

It’s peculiar how no-words can be better than words. How silence can say more than noise, or a person’s absence can occupy even more space than their presence did.

Suzy is twelve when her best friend, Franny, drowns one summer at the beach. It takes two days for the news to reach Suzy, and it’s not something that she can accept: Franny has always been a strong swimmer, from the day they met in swim class when they were just five. How can someone all of a sudden, just no longer be there?

Suzy realizes that they must have got it wrong: Franny didn’t just drown – she was stung by a poisonous jellyfish. This makes a lot more sense to Suzy’s logical mind than a random drowning – cause: a jellyfish sting; effect: death.

Suzy’s journey to acceptance is quiet – she resolves to either say something important, or say nothing at all. But it’s also bursting with bittersweet humour, heartbreaking honesty, big ideas and small details.

The Thing about Jellyfish is an astonishing debut novel from Ali Benjamin, and is perfect for fans of Wonder, Counting by 7s and My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece.

Neva’s thoughts (aged 12):

Neva liked this book very much, in fact it only took her two days to complete it as she wouldn’t put it down!

She loved the fact that it followed two plots throughout her life, one growing up and the other after the death of her friend, she would definitely recommend it.

Rating 9.5/10

If you have a young adult that likes books, this one comes out tomorrow!

The Thing about Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin

 

Comments (1)

  • Laura Wilson

    March 15, 2016 at 8:05 pm

    This sounds like a great book, instant shivers as soon as I started reading your post!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Prev Post

St John Ambulance Teaching parents CPR for babies.

March 9, 2016

Next Post

I Miss You `Nanny on her own'

March 9, 2016